And the feast begins: birthday baking

I made it to the big 30 – I’m not sure if I’ll make it much past though – not with all this celebratory eating. I have had a wonderful day back in Struggle Town (hometown of Queanbeyan, NSW). Those perfect blue winter skies, silvery crisp air and nostalgic mountains on every horizon.

To warm the heart (and because I love cooking in volume) everyone was fed big bowls of spiced porridge for breakfast. Lunch was talking and presents and messy cafe food at Urban Pantry – tasty beef burger (on Deeks Quinoa Bread) dripping with mustard and caramelised onions. Dinner was mum’s homemade mexican pizza and a bottle of Stonier’s Pinot Noir from Mornington Peninsular.

With a cake party planned for tomorrow here I am, up late, waiting for the third cake to finish baking. My arms are sore from whisking and creaming, I am all tea’d out and am feeling a little ill from tasting. Despite that, I feel I could bake all night. My mum’s kitchen is a dream due to silent sliding draws, the best wooden spoons, a deep sink and the most amazing oven I have ever used.

But it’s up early to make friands, 3 batches of scones, spiced whipped butter and roll the doughnuts in cinnamon sugar so I’ll be off to bed.

Comments
5 Responses to “And the feast begins: birthday baking”
  1. mydearbakes says:

    I got hungry just by looking at your post! =)

  2. Em says:

    Happy birthday!!! Hope the feast is truly amazing. And do check out 101cookbooks (if you get time during all the feasting) .. reminds me of your kind of food.

  3. Case says:

    Oh how I wish I was there! For the food and tea and laughing and everything! Have a blast xoxo

  4. Lisa says:

    i’m so glad i could come and share the delicious delicacies, what a privilege this was!! XOL

  5. Terry says:

    Nice oven you mum has – and the cakes were very nice. Surprised at how many were eaten.

Leave a comment